Moringa History

The plant originates from India and was spread by humans in equatorial countries all around the world. Already in ancient Egypt, Greece and the Roman Empire, the moringa tree was highly valued because of its characteristics.


In 5000 years old Vedic records from India, Moringa Oleifera and its healing properties are documented for the first time. The plant obtained a high significance and was included into the traditional Indian medicine, the Ayurveda. The different parts of the tree which is called Sahjan, Murunga as well as Moonga in India are said to alleviate and cure 300 diseases. Even nowadays Moringa is still utilized in the holistic pathology and dietetics teachings and steadily gains recognition from the modern, academic medicine.

 

Egyptian hieroglyphics of the 6th dynasty (approx. 2475 B.C.) furnish evidence of importing oil named Baq or Baqet (Egyptian for ben oil) from northern Asia. The Egyptians employed this premium oil as admixture for cooking, as perfume (Kyphi), “unction cones” for embalmments and in medicine. Also in ancient Greece and the Roman Empire people knew the oil derived from moringa seeds and its versatility. It found application in cosmetics as basis for ointments and creams as well as cold extracts (mazerats) and in fragrance extraction (enfleurage) for essential oils and pomades.

 

The most rapid extension of moringa happened in the colonial era, as British rulers took along and resettled many species of herbs and plants from India to other areas. They called moringa horseradish tree, due to the pungent smell of its roots, and used it as a substitute for common horseradish.

 

The highly desirable moringa oil was used until well in the 19th century as precision mechanical lubricant in the watchmaking industry especially in Swiss and Germany. As aliment, ben oil was forced out the market around 1920 by much cheaper olive and palm oils. It is the most stable known plant oil on earth.

 

Over its geographical extension the plant family Moringaceae has adapted to new habitats and environments. It has developed into 13 species, whereupon it cannot be said for sure that all species have already been discovered. Interestingly, humans in different parts of the world and, for the most part, independently from each other, have found out about the Miracle Tree and learned to appreciate its properties.

 

Discover your own moringa world!

Do you want to know more? Than continue here:

Moringa Utilization

Moringa is not only used in many parts of Africa and Asia as medical plant, but also as aliment (principal food and dietary supplement). Almost all parts of this tree can be eaten.

Moringa Ingredients

Research results substantiate the extraordinary density of nutrients in moringa. The combination and composition of the vital substances is very concentrated, balanced and unique among all known plants.

Moringa Research & Studies

At present many scientists and academic institutions are engaged with Moringa research. This plant attracts more and more attention due to its diversity, properties and effects.

Moringa Geschichte

Die Pflanze stammt ursprünglich aus Indien und wurde durch den Menschen weltweit in äquatornahen Ländern verbreitet. Bereits die alten Ägypter, Griechen und Römer schätzten den Moringa Baum wegen seiner Besonderheiten.

In 5000 Jahre alten vedischen Aufzeichnungen aus Indien ist Moringa Oleifera und seine heilsame Wirkung erstmals dokumentiert. Die Pflanze erhielt einen hohen Stellenwert und wurde in der traditionellen indischen Heilkunst aufgenommen, dem Ayurveda. Die verschiedenen Bestandteile des im Indischen Sahjan, Murunga oder auch Moonga genannten Baumes sollen bei 300 Krankheiten Linderung und Heilung bewirken. Moringa wird auch heute noch in der ganzheitlichen Krankheits- und Ernährungslehre eingesetzt und findet zunehmend Anerkennung durch die moderne, westliche Schulmedizin.


Ägyptische Hieroglyphen aus der 6. Dynastie (ca. 2475 v. Chr.) belegen den Import von Baq, oder Baqet (ägyptisch für Behenöl) aus dem nördlichen Asien. Die Altägypter nutzten das hochwertige Öl als Beimischung beim Kochen, als Parfüm (Kyphi), als Salbkegel bei Balsamierungen und in der Medizin. Auch im antiken Griechenland und römischen Imperium kannte man das aus Moringa Samen gepresste Öl und seine Einsatzvielfalt. Es fand  in der Kosmetik Verwendung; als Grundlage für Salben und Cremes sowie zur Herstellung von Kaltauszügen (Mazeraten) und in der Duftstoffgewinnung (Enfleurage) für ätherische Öle und Pomaden.

Die schnellste Verbreitung von Moringa fand jedoch während der Kolonialzeit statt, als englische Kolonialherren viele Kräuter- und Pflanzenarten von Indien in andere Gebiete mitnahmen und umsiedelten. Sie nannten den Moringa Baum wegen des stechend brennenden Geruchs seiner Wurzeln, bedingt durch den Senföl-Glykosidengehalt, Horseradish Tree und nutzten ihn als Meerrettichersatz.

Das sehr begehrte Moringa Öl wurde bis ins 19. Jahrhundert hinein als feinmechanisches Schmieröl in der Uhrenindustrie vor allem in der Schweiz und Deutschland eingesetzt. Als Nahrungsmittel wurde Behenöl um 1920 durch die wesentlich billigeren Oliven- und Palmenöle vom europäischen Markt verdrängt. Es ist das stabilste bekannte Pflanzenöl der Welt.

 

In Laufe seiner Verbreitung hat sich die Gattung Moringaceae an neue Lebensräume und -umstände angepasst und zu 13 Arten entwickelt, wobei nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann, dass schon alle Arten entdeckt sind. Interessanterweise lernten die Menschen in verschiedenen Erdteilen, weitestgehend unabhängig voneinander, die Eigenschaften des Wunderbaums selbst kennen und schätzen.

Entdecken auch Sie Ihre eigene Moringa Welt!

Wollen Sie mehr erfahren? Dann lesen Sie hier weiter…